KTWU, local public television, has received four Emmy® award nominations from the Heartland Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences for local programming.

KTWU’s production of WASHBURN UNIVERSITY HOLIDAY VESPERS (2015) was nominated in the Special Event category and also in the Lighting category. The annual Theatre of the Mind radio play production, “Trilogy of Terror,” received a nomination in the category of Set Design (pictured). A segment of KTWU’s SUNFLOWER JOURNEYS, “Piatt Street Plane Crash” was nominated in the Historic/Cultural Program category.

The WASHBURN UNIVERSITY HOLIDAY VESPERS and KTWU’s SUNFLOWER JOURNEYS programs have each been honored with several Emmy® awards in previous years.

The awards are presented by the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences through its Heartland Chapter. Founded in 1947, the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) and the Emmy® Award stand for the best in the television industry. The National Academy is the only non-profit organization dedicated to recognizing outstanding achievement, raising industry standards, and improving the quality of television. Its dedication to excellence is pursued every day by members of its 19 chapters across the country.

The Emmy® Award, often referred to simply as the Emmy®, is a television achievement award and is considered the television equivalent to the Academy Awards (for film), Grammy Awards (for music) and Tony Awards (for stage).

The Heartland Chapter serves the television industry in these markets/DMAs: Denver, Oklahoma City, Tulsa, Wichita/Hutchinson, Omaha, Colorado Springs/Pueblo, Lincoln/Hastings-Kearney, Topeka, Grand Junction/Montrose, Cheyenne/Scottsbluff and North Platte.

The Heartland Chapter announces their Emmy® award winners on July 16, 2016.

About KTWU

Presenting local public television for more than 50 years, KTWU broadcasts can be seen in eastern Kansas and portions of Nebraska, Missouri and Oklahoma. Through over-the-air broadcast and carriage on cable and satellite companies, KTWU reaches approximately 1.6 million viewers. KTWU offers five digital destinations for unique content: KTWU (PBS) in High Definition on Channel 11.1; KTWU/MHz Worldview on Channel 11.2; KTWU ENHANCE on Channel 11.3; ktwu.org, online; and KTWU MOBILE TV. KTWU is licensed to Washburn University and was the first public television station in the state of Kansas. For more information on KTWU, visit the online site at ktwu.org